New Scotland Committee Members Appointed

Big Lottery Fund LogoThe Big Lottery Fund’s mission is to bring real improvements to communities and to the lives of people most in need, and with this in mind we distribute over £1 million every week in Scotland to good causes. To guide our work our Scotland Committee takes strategic responsibility for the direction and work of the Fund in Scotland. The Committee decides on the funding programmes we operate in Scotland and also makes major funding decisions on a wide range of projects.

We can now announce that we have appointed four new Committee Members to support and guide our work in Scotland, and who will take up their appointments on the 1st March. Our new Committee Members are Stella Everingham, Alan McGregor, Shalani Raghavan and Deirdre Robertson.

Stella Everingham is a professionally qualified social worker. Over her 30 year career she has worked both in London and in Scotland within Central and Local Government. She was also a Director of a Scotland wide voluntary organisation and has been a School Board member. Her focus over the years has been on children’s services.

Alan McGregor is Director of the Training and Employment Research Unit (TERU) and Professor of Economic Development in the Adam Smith Business School at the University of Glasgow. A labour economist by background, over a period of 40 years he has worked in the broad areas of economic development. In addition to his academic work he has been heavily involved in practical issues and in policy development. He has a longstanding commitment to social enterprises and the social economy. As part of this he has been a Board Member of the Ayr United Football Academy (AUFA) since its establishment.

Shalani Raghavan is a lawyer and former Procurator Fiscal who currently works for the Scottish Government. Her background and career history offer the Committee a broad perspective on its work with communities and new communities in particular. She is a current volunteer for the Princes Trust and a Trustee for the charity Neighborhood Networks.

Deirdre Robertson is a practising artist and poet. She also works as an interim director. She is currently a Board Member of Craft Scotland, a Council Member for the Society of Scottish Artists and a Panel Member for the Coastal Community Fund. She previously spent 7 years on the Board of Dundee Contemporary Arts, and 2 years as Chief Operating Officer at Tate.

These new members join the Committee as Tim Allan, Helen Forsyth, David Green and Lucy McTernan depart, completing their fixed term appointments at the beginning of March.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s